Roots

“For many centuries roots have been pictured as living in absolute darkness, hidden from sight, and therefore wonderfully mysterious.  There is a least some mystic justification for this concept.  There is also the growth of scientific correction.  By human standards, roots usually dwell in darkness – at the very least, in comparative darkness.  But we are learning that they are profoundly influenced by light and that soil, or even subsoil, however rife with mysteries, is not a phenomenon of total darkness.” ~ Charles Morrow Wilson Roots: Miracles Below 1968

I believe that, like roots searching for water, our unconscious mind searches for ways to show us the basic truths of who we are and reveals these things to us through various channels.  I often find new ways of understanding this in unsuspected places, like in a book about plant roots. As I read the opening paragraph of chapter 9 in the book quoted above, metaphorically the soil became the dark and hidden depths of the unconscious and the roots whatever means we have of tapping into that.

We tend to think of the unconscious as a frightening, primitive place in ourselves that often brings us confusing and undecipherable dreams, complexes and other unwelcome things.  This is where our shadow lies – those aspects of ourselves that we don’t want to acknowledge. The inner workings of our psyche seem hidden in the dark.

It’s somewhat true that there is no light in the depths of the unconscious and the messages we receive from it are not spoken in our language – we’ll never totally understand it or have access to it.  But if we pay attention to what the roots bring us – in our sleeping or waking dreams, the things we express creatively , the things we are drawn to without thought, actions that we take instinctively –  we might have a deeper understanding of who we are and what we need to grow and be able to shed some light on those shadows.

People take cues from the light just as plants do.  I often find that my life grows sluggish during the winter – that I feel tired and sad. In my outer experiences and productivity, I seem not to be growing, but taking a lesson from nature I can see that despite my outer appearance I’m also working deep inside and my own growth is taking place. Outside the trees are quiet now, but deep underground the roots are busy at work. As spring grows nearer I feel my own blood quickening like tree sap and hope to see new leaves soon.

This entry was posted in self growth and discovery and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Roots

  1. I have found that in my life, I have absorbed more, like plants, through osmosis, than from seeking the light..There may be something to be said, for having your head in the sand after all.
    Nice work..

  2. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    A very interesting read, and very well written.

  3. I never thought about it before, but it’s true that roots and our subconscious minds are both wonderfully mysterious. It’s a good metaphor. Recently I’ve been reading a book about how chronic pain is often a message from the subconscious mind. It must be worth the effort to pay attention to and try to decipher the messages in dreams, phobias, aches and pains.

    • Yes, the mind/body connection is interesting and well worth paying attention to, I think. I’ve been learning about Jungian dream interpretation the past year or so and it’s been an amazing experience working with my dreams. I think dreams help us even when we’re not aware of it happening, but when you start to pay attention to them it’s incredible what you can find out about yourself.

  4. Poetic, inspiring, gives the reader a perspective of his own heart and mind. This stirred my thoughts, “I believe that, like roots searching for water, our unconscious mind searches for ways to show us the basic truths of who we are and reveals these things to us through various channels. ” So true . And like the roots, we need to find ways to nourish the hunger of our soul. Beautiful post…..Thanks.

  5. A wonderfully thought provoking post! I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. I’ve always been intrigued with the unconscious. I personally like to think of the unconscious as “air.” We can’t actually see it, or hold it in our hands. Yet, we know that it’s there nurturing our growth.

    By the way, thanks very much for dropping by my blog and subscribing. It led me to your fascinating blog. I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts!

    • Thank you. I always think of the unconcious as “deep water” because that’s usually the way it presents itself in my dreams. but air is also a great metaphor that I had never considered. We need both air and water to live and grow. :) I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts as well!

  6. jakesprinter says:

    You have great article here my friend , Nice :)

  7. loiswstern says:

    Whether it comes to us through divine intervention, channeling, psyche powers or just good common sense born of years of experience, thank you for reminding us that the unconscious works miracles.
    Warm regards,
    Lois W. Stern
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/FabulousBeautyBlog/285288224823825

  8. Francina says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog and by doing so, give me the chance to read your writings.
    You have a very interesting blog and I will be back to read more.

    Ciao,
    Francina

Leave a Reply

